Back to news

Havas PR scores with North West Football Awards

Havas PR is supporting Northwest Football Awards with its media relations for the 2017 awards. 

All awards will be announced and presented at the Northwest Football Awards at The Point, Emirates Old Trafford on Monday, 13th November, hosted by the BBC’s Dan Walker.

The finalists in the player categories for the 2017 Northwest Football Awards have been announced, as the awards mark its tenth year of recognising the good, the great and the un-sung of the beautiful game in the region.

In the Premier League Player of the Year category, Liverpool’s Sadio Mane and Manchester City’s David Silva will compete with other finalists Tom Davies of Everton, Burnley’s Tom Heaton and Manchester United’s Ander Herrera.

In the Championship category, Blackburn’s Derrick Williams goes up against Ben Pearson of Preston North End and Dan Burn of Wigan Athletic.

In League One, Fleetwood Town’s Cian Bolger takes on Oldham’s Peter Clark, Callum Camps of Rochdale and Bolton Wanderers’ David Wheater.

For League Two, the finalists see Carlisle United’s midfielder, Nicky Adams, shortlisted alongside Michael Rose of Morecambe, Blackpool’s Kelvin Mellor and Accrington Stanley’s Sean McConville.

And the shortlist for the player of the year for the National League is made up of Ryan Astles of Chester, Andy Cook of Tranmere Rovers, Barrow’s Moussa Diarra and Macclesfield’s George Pilkington.

In the fiercely competitive rising star category, Alan Browne of Preston North End, Mitch Hancox of Macclesfield Town and Ben Tollitt of Tranmere Rovers will go head-to-head with Trent Alexander-Arnold of Liverpool, Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Angel Gomes of Manchester United.

The Fine Bedding Company Women’s Player of the Year finalists are Jamie Lee McDowell of Chester, Everton’s Gabby George, Caroline Weir of Liverpool and Manchester City’s Lucy Bronze, who has recently signed for Lyon.

In the women’s rising star category, the shortlist consists of Niamh Charles of Liverpool Ladies, Megan Finnigan of Everton Ladies, Chester’s Becky Tebb and Manchester City’s Keira Walsh.

The finalists in the inaugural best Fan TV Channel – a new category recognising the popularity of the fan-led social media movement – are FullTimeDevils (Manchester United fans), BlueMoonRisingTV (Man City fans), TheRedmenTV (Liverpool fans) and Toffee TV (Everton fans).